Tuesday, 14 May 2019 16:16

9th Congress Assembly: Artistic Vanguard Looks Inside

Written by Yelaine Martínez Herrera
  • font size decrease font size increase font size
  • Print
  • Email
  • No comment
9th Congress Assembly: Artistic Vanguard Looks Inside Photo: Ángel Luis Batista

Fernando Rojas, Vice Minister of Culture, exhorted strengthening the communication between the directors of the cultural institutions and their protagonists, addressing the Provincial Assembly of the Congress of the Union of Writers and Artists of Cuba (Uneac), which met in Las Tunas, prior to the great appointment, which will take place next June.


Las Tunas, Cuba.- The artistic avant-garde analyzed the main achievements and challenges since the previous congress, which took place five years ago, accompanied by Luis Morlote, first vice-president of Uneac, Alfonso Noya, president of the Cuban Radio and Television Institute (ICRT) ), the main authorities of the Cuban Communist Party and the Government of the territory, and other officials.

The problems of connectivity that affect the promotion of the sector's work, the delay in payment to artists after their performances, the need to create a National School of Clown, a Concert Hall and have a venue for the Euterpe choir, with 25 years of work, as well as reflections on sound pollution, the defense of history and entities with heritage value, and the work with new generations were among the most recurrent approaches.

Víctor Gaute, member of the Central Committee of the Party, referred to the leading role of Uneac in the current historical moment and called on members to look inside each day and overcome the challenges because there is enough talent in Las Tunas.

The election process was carried out as culmination of the meeting. The new direction was constituted by María Lourdes Jacobo, as president, Iraida Williams Eugellés, first vice president, and vice presidents Miguel Díaz Nápoles and Ernesto Parra. They also chose the delegates who will participate in the Congress and the candidates for the executives of the national associations of the Uneac.

A special moment was dedicated to recognize Carlos Tamayo, who worthy led the organization to date. The most distinguished by affiliates were also awarded: writers Carlos Esquivel, María Liliana Celorrio and Frank Castell; the musicians Gerardo Corredera García and Argibaldo Acebo Pérez; the plastic artist Jesús Vega Faura, the actor and theater director Ernesto Parra, audiovisual makers Antonio Nadal and Waldina Almaguer; and Othoniel Morffis for the Cieric-Uneac Regional Office.

Read 954 times

Escriba su comentario

Post comentado como Invitado

  • No comments found