Thursday, 07 December 2017 18:44

Cuba Now Has Three Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity Representatives

Written by ACN
  • font size decrease font size increase font size
  • Print
  • Email
  • No comment
Cuba Now Has Three Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity Representatives Photo: Archive

With the recent inscription of the Cuban point as Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity, there are three national elements that have reached this category, granted by Unesco.


Havana, Cuba.- The Tumba Francesa was the first in 2008, in response to the values of this manifestation that arrived in the east of the island with Haitian slaves, in which dance, singing and percussion are mixed and it is still palyed in the Cuban town of Sagua de Tánamo, in eastern Holguín province.

The second selected was the Cuban rumba in 2016, a festive expression that is practiced in different towns and cities and in which popular dances and music are combined with all the inherent cultural practices.

The Cuban punto has just been added to the list, which was included in the meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee, which will be held until tomorrow, Friday, in the city of Jeju, Republic of Korea.

According to a press release from the United Nations Organization for Culture, the genuine musical expression of the peasantry is one of the nine new elements approved worldwide.

In the exclusive list of the Intangible Heritage of Humanity, only forms of expression that bear witness to cultural diversity and contribute to raising awareness about its importance are included.

Punto is the poetry and music of Cuban farmers, consisting of a tune or melody over which a person sings an improvised or learned stanza of ten octameter verse lines, with a rhyming scheme.

This year, another 20 representatives were registered in the Unesco list, belonging to Saudi Arabia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Romania and Cote d'Ivoire.

Iran (2) Kazakhstan, Portugal, Germany, Greece, India, Indonsesia, Irlkanda, Italy, Kyrgyzstan and Malawi were also distinguished at the last meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee.

Previously, only 460 manifestations of 117 countries bore the status of Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity, since this denomination was established, aimed at promoting and preserving heritage and cultural values. (ACN)

Read 419 times

Escriba su comentario

Post comentado como Invitado

  • No comments found