The 44th Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) will start in the Bahamas on Wednesday,

The 44th Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) will analyze in the Bahamas, starting Wednesday, key issues for the future of the bloc such as climate financing, security, and health.

Nássau.- The CARICOM Today digital site published this Monday that the conclave, from 15 to 17, will take place under the presidency of the Prime Minister of the Bahamas, Felipe Davis.

The Community’s single market and economy and food security are also on the agenda of the meeting.

Regarding the meeting, the group’s general secretary, Carla Barnett, maintained that the heads of state and government will emphasize the objective of achieving a market and economy for the countries of the integrationist bloc.

Forty-Fourth Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of CARICOM

The participants will also examine the progress to achieve nutritional security in the region and for this, they will take as a starting point the most recent report of the Caricom ministerial working group on food production.

According to CARICOM Today, the meeting will feature special guests such as the Prime Minister of Canada, Justin Trudeau, and representatives of international financial and trade organizations.

Confirming his attendance at the Conference, Prime Minister Trudeau said that “Canada and the Caribbean Community share strong ties between our peoples, common values, and a commitment to the fight against climate change.”

“I look forward to meeting with Caricom leaders to discuss how we can continue to work together to support the people of Haiti, strengthen the Caribbean region, and build a better future for people and businesses in Canada, the Caribbean, and around the world.”

CARICOM emerged on July 4, 1973, with the signing of the Chaguaramas Treaty by 15 countries: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent, and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago. (PL)